๐Ÿ“– The Library – Recommended Reading

Tenement: A Short Horror Story

Tenement: A Short Horror Story

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Short Story
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 17, 2020
Book Description:
Moving away from home can be a little scary, especially when your new place is a crumbling apartment building in a less than affluent neighborhood. Creaky floorboards in the darkness and shadows moving outside your door are bound to make anyone a little jumpy, but at least the landlady seems sweet enough.
Too Spooky Tales: Book Three: Echos Of The Passed

Too Spooky Tales: Book Three: Echos Of The Passed

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 17, 2020
Book Description:
From Christopher Howard Wolf, also known as Slimebeast, come 6 original scary stories that probe the border between life and death. From a visceral experience with a hospital ghost, to a quest for the perfect meal, "Too Spooky Tales" brings unexpected horrors from dark places.
Helltown Experiments: Book 1

Helltown Experiments: Book 1

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 14, 2020
Book Description:
In 1974 the government took over 32,861 acres of land and made it the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. It forced the many residents off their property, and rumors of strange experiments that took place in an underground government facility became the thing of legend. Helltown, where multiple lives intersect, and only those with the will to survive in a place named after Hell itself survive, but at what cost? This is their story.
Don't Scream 3: 30 More Tales to Terrify

Don’t Scream 3: 30 More Tales to Terrify

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
March 27, 2020
Book Description:
I hear a train outside my window. Every night, it gets closer. I got called to landscape a strange garden--that blooms in the middle of December. I visited the Titanic shipwreck. There's something down there no one should see... DONโ€™T SCREAM 3 brings you 30 more terrifying tales for your darkest nights. A successor to the #1 bestselling horror anthology Don't Scream, featuring hideous doppelgangers, terrifying apps, lurking monsters, and more. Read... if you dare.
Scarytales: Reimagined Dark Fairy Tales

Scarytales: Reimagined Dark Fairy Tales

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
February 24, 2020
Book Description:
Once upon a time. When Aroua was having nightmares about her 16th birthdayโ€ฆ or was she? When the little mermaid visited the surface for the first time and was surprised when a prince fell for her. When Cinderella didnโ€™t wear a glamorous dress to the ball, in fact, she never actually went. ScaryTales features eight classic fairytalesโ€ฆ Or when George would have warned his shining knight about hidden towers in scary forestsโ€ฆ If he wasnโ€™t a horse, of course. Each delivering a thick, diverse tapestry of storiesโ€ฆ When Jack should have left things well alone. And the greatest story never toldโ€ฆ Humpty Dumpty the Kingsman. That show that fairytales... When a mother warns of those evil red cloaks, a good wolf must listen. Donโ€™t always have a happy ending. What's a 100 year age gap between true love? Fans of The Black Mirror, Twilight Zone, the dark fairytale series, and the original Brothers Grimm will love this collection of tales that distort these nostalgic childhood favorites.
Simeon

Simeon

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
February 1, 2020
Book Description:
When Diana - aย defector to the Soviet Union - blows up her own American platoon in an act of terroristic defiance, she finds herself shuttled to a secret military laboratory deep in the Siberian tundra. There she melds with its community of workers and finds herself at the mercy of shady Director Ivanov's bizarre and restrictive policies. Their experiment is a hybridย of man and ape, reared to be the ultimate soldier. But as a mysterious delusion passes among the workforce, and as friends and enemies succumb to the madness, Diana uncovers an existential corruption; not just in what she believes, but in the human condition itself.
Face the Music

Face the Music

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 27, 2020
Book Description:
In this collection of old-school style horror stories, Mark Towse takes readers on a wild ride with unexpected twists and turns. Once read, these tales will not be easily forgotten.
The Art of Fear: How to Write Scary Ghost Stories that Terrify Your Readers

The Art of Fear: How to Write Scary Ghost Stories that Terrify Your Readers

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Reference Guide
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 13, 2020
Book Description:
Do you want to give your readers goosebumps? Do you want to inspire nightmares? Author James Colton shares everything heโ€™s learned from a decade of writing ghost stories, including:

The Principles of Terror:

  • Discover the basic qualities that make something scary
  • Learn how to apply the unknown, uncanniness, subtlety, and more to your writing

The Ghost Story Process:

  • Crack the secrets of idea generation to craft a story that is both original and terrifying
  • Understand the structure of a ghost story for maximum fright impact

Creepy Case Studies:

  • Study examples from novels, short stories, and films
  • Dive deep into one of my own ghost stories to see how it all works in practice

Practical Exercises:

  • Stretch your creativity and train your spooky skills with specially crafted writing assignments
  • Put together everything youโ€™ve learned to write your own scary ghost story
Too Spooky Tales: Book Two: Lying in Plain Sight

Too Spooky Tales: Book Two: Lying in Plain Sight

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 1, 2020
Book Description:
From Christopher Howard Wolf, also known as Slimebeast, come 6 original scary stories with a demented sense of humor. From the confessions of a TSA agent to the troubles of a man with an unfortunate name, "Too Spooky Tales" Book 2 brings unexpected horrors from dark places.
Midnight Men: The Supernatural Adventures of Earl and Dale

Midnight Men: The Supernatural Adventures of Earl and Dale

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 16, 2019
Book Description:
Midnight. The Witching Hour. But the creatures of darkness are not confined to the shadows of the night. Lonely stretches of highwaysโ€ฆ Bustling college campusesโ€ฆ Quiet suburban neighborhoodsโ€ฆ Pricey, upscale day spas... They're everywhere. Earl and Dale, a pair of burly truckers, seem to be drawn to those that dwell in the darkness. Monster hunters by default, they confront the evil fearlesslyโ€”and with just a bit of humor. Vampires, werewolves, half-human spider demons, and those that prey on the innocentโ€ฆ All will realize they've met their match when they go head to head withโ€ฆ
The Elevator

The Elevator

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novella
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 14, 2019
Book Description:
Thomas Birkoff is the youngest CEO in Manhattan Dynamics' long history. After entering the elevator to leave work late one night, Thomas gets a ride a little further down then he wanted. Forced to face some of the terrible things he has done in his life, Thomas is placed in a life or death situation for not only himself but his son.
Family Reunion (The Snow Family Book 2)

Family Reunion (The Snow Family Book 2)

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 11, 2019
Book Description:
The wedding is over. It's time for a little family get together. The Snows are certainly not your average family. But they are loyal to one another, at least. Four stories of Snows, both old and new. Bluebeard- Nicholas, the only Snow brother who has yet to find his soulmate. But at first you don't succeed... Family Reunion- Holly has nothing in common with her prissy cousin, Eliza Jane. Hopefully they can find some common ground when Holly comes to visit for a week. In Mother's Closet- There's something in Bonnie's closet, and Abraham will make sure it stays a secret. Brother Dearest- Why was Margaret disowned by the Snows?

Skip to content