Dan Weatherer



Dan Weatherer is an award-winning author represented by The Cherry Weiner Literary Agency, first published by Haunted Magazine in Spring, 2013.

Aside from the publication of numerous short stories with a multitude of presses, his next major project was a solo collection of short stories titled The Soul That Screamed (Winner of the Preditors & Editorsβ„’ Readers’ Poll ‘Best Anthology 2013’).

A further two collections Only the Good Burn Bright (Spring 2015, James Ward Kirk Fiction) and Neverlight (Spring 2016, Spectral Press) quickly followed. His first non-fiction book titled ‘What Dwells Within’ was released in the Autumn of 2015 and details the life’s work of paranormal investigator Jayne Harris.

In 2015, Dan was shortlisted for the prestigious position of Staffordshire Poet Laureate 2016-2018.

In 2017, Neverlight was shortlisted for the first annual Arnold Bennett Literary Prize. His fourth collection Just Eventide, was released in August 2017.

2017 also saw the release of Dan’s historical novella, ‘Crippen’, courtesy again of Spectral Press.

An accomplished playwright, Dan was winner of the 2017 Soundwork UK play competition, a finalist in the Blackshaw Showcase Award 2016, and a two-time finalist of the Congleton Players One Act Festival, 2016. Dan has had several of his plays appear at festivals and fringe events. The Dead Stage, a book detailing Dan’s experiences as a novice playwright was published courtesy of Crystal Lake Publishing in October, 2018.

In 2019, Dan was nominated for a local Heroes award (The Sentinel) for his continued promotion of literacy and mental health issues in the city of Stoke on Trent.

2019 also saw the release of his non-fiction title Sounds of a Madman, where Dan discusses the issues surrounding living with depression and anxiety. The Necessary Evils was published late October (Demain Press), followed by The Tainted Isle, Dan’s debut novel, courtesy of PS Publishing.

Dan lives in Staffordshire, where he is married to his wife Jenni and is a (proud) full-time dad to his daughter Bethany, and his son Nathan.

Featured stories from Dan Weatherer:

The Chronicles of a Butcher’s Wife

The Chronicles of a Butcher’s Wife

πŸ“ˆ Average Rating:
6750 - 9000 Words
The Legend of the Chained Oak

The Legend of the Chained Oak

πŸ“ˆ Average Rating:
2250 - 4500 Words

Featured books from Dan Weatherer:

The Soul That Screamed
Neverlight: A Father Darkness Collection

Skip to content