๐Ÿ“– The Library – Recommended Reading

Boy in the Box

Boy in the Box

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 23, 2020
Book Description:
โ€œThis is a harrowing and intense psychological horror novel for fans of Peter Straub, Jac Jemc, and Ania Ahlborn." โ€•ย Booklist โ€•ย Ten years ago a mysterious and tragic hunting accident deep in the Adirondack Mountains left a boy buried in a storied piece of land known as Coombsโ€™ Gulch and four friends with a terrible secret. Now, Jonathan Hollis and brothers Michael and Conner Braddick must return to the place that changed their lives forever in order to keep their secret buried. What they donโ€™t realize is that they are walking into a trap โ€• one set decades earlier by a supernatural being who is not confined by time or place: a demon that demands a sacrifice. FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launched in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.
Tenement: A Short Horror Story

Tenement: A Short Horror Story

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Short Story
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 17, 2020
Book Description:
Moving away from home can be a little scary, especially when your new place is a crumbling apartment building in a less than affluent neighborhood. Creaky floorboards in the darkness and shadows moving outside your door are bound to make anyone a little jumpy, but at least the landlady seems sweet enough.
Too Spooky Tales: Book Three: Echos Of The Passed

Too Spooky Tales: Book Three: Echos Of The Passed

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 17, 2020
Book Description:
From Christopher Howard Wolf, also known as Slimebeast, come 6 original scary stories that probe the border between life and death. From a visceral experience with a hospital ghost, to a quest for the perfect meal, "Too Spooky Tales" brings unexpected horrors from dark places.
Don't Scream 3: 30 More Tales to Terrify

Don’t Scream 3: 30 More Tales to Terrify

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
March 27, 2020
Book Description:
I hear a train outside my window. Every night, it gets closer. I got called to landscape a strange garden--that blooms in the middle of December. I visited the Titanic shipwreck. There's something down there no one should see... DONโ€™T SCREAM 3 brings you 30 more terrifying tales for your darkest nights. A successor to the #1 bestselling horror anthology Don't Scream, featuring hideous doppelgangers, terrifying apps, lurking monsters, and more. Read... if you dare.
Simeon

Simeon

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
February 1, 2020
Book Description:
When Diana - aย defector to the Soviet Union - blows up her own American platoon in an act of terroristic defiance, she finds herself shuttled to a secret military laboratory deep in the Siberian tundra. There she melds with its community of workers and finds herself at the mercy of shady Director Ivanov's bizarre and restrictive policies. Their experiment is a hybridย of man and ape, reared to be the ultimate soldier. But as a mysterious delusion passes among the workforce, and as friends and enemies succumb to the madness, Diana uncovers an existential corruption; not just in what she believes, but in the human condition itself.
The Art of Fear: How to Write Scary Ghost Stories that Terrify Your Readers

The Art of Fear: How to Write Scary Ghost Stories that Terrify Your Readers

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Reference Guide
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 13, 2020
Book Description:
Do you want to give your readers goosebumps? Do you want to inspire nightmares? Author James Colton shares everything heโ€™s learned from a decade of writing ghost stories, including:

The Principles of Terror:

  • Discover the basic qualities that make something scary
  • Learn how to apply the unknown, uncanniness, subtlety, and more to your writing

The Ghost Story Process:

  • Crack the secrets of idea generation to craft a story that is both original and terrifying
  • Understand the structure of a ghost story for maximum fright impact

Creepy Case Studies:

  • Study examples from novels, short stories, and films
  • Dive deep into one of my own ghost stories to see how it all works in practice

Practical Exercises:

  • Stretch your creativity and train your spooky skills with specially crafted writing assignments
  • Put together everything youโ€™ve learned to write your own scary ghost story
Too Spooky Tales: Book Two: Lying in Plain Sight

Too Spooky Tales: Book Two: Lying in Plain Sight

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 1, 2020
Book Description:
From Christopher Howard Wolf, also known as Slimebeast, come 6 original scary stories with a demented sense of humor. From the confessions of a TSA agent to the troubles of a man with an unfortunate name, "Too Spooky Tales" Book 2 brings unexpected horrors from dark places.
Midnight Men: The Supernatural Adventures of Earl and Dale

Midnight Men: The Supernatural Adventures of Earl and Dale

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 16, 2019
Book Description:
Midnight. The Witching Hour. But the creatures of darkness are not confined to the shadows of the night. Lonely stretches of highwaysโ€ฆ Bustling college campusesโ€ฆ Quiet suburban neighborhoodsโ€ฆ Pricey, upscale day spas... They're everywhere. Earl and Dale, a pair of burly truckers, seem to be drawn to those that dwell in the darkness. Monster hunters by default, they confront the evil fearlesslyโ€”and with just a bit of humor. Vampires, werewolves, half-human spider demons, and those that prey on the innocentโ€ฆ All will realize they've met their match when they go head to head withโ€ฆ
The Elevator

The Elevator

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novella
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 14, 2019
Book Description:
Thomas Birkoff is the youngest CEO in Manhattan Dynamics' long history. After entering the elevator to leave work late one night, Thomas gets a ride a little further down then he wanted. Forced to face some of the terrible things he has done in his life, Thomas is placed in a life or death situation for not only himself but his son.
Family Reunion (The Snow Family Book 2)

Family Reunion (The Snow Family Book 2)

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 11, 2019
Book Description:
The wedding is over. It's time for a little family get together. The Snows are certainly not your average family. But they are loyal to one another, at least. Four stories of Snows, both old and new. Bluebeard- Nicholas, the only Snow brother who has yet to find his soulmate. But at first you don't succeed... Family Reunion- Holly has nothing in common with her prissy cousin, Eliza Jane. Hopefully they can find some common ground when Holly comes to visit for a week. In Mother's Closet- There's something in Bonnie's closet, and Abraham will make sure it stays a secret. Brother Dearest- Why was Margaret disowned by the Snows?
Don't Scream 2: 30 More Tales to Terrify

Don’t Scream 2: 30 More Tales to Terrify

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 4, 2019
Book Description:
Every night, I hear a woman crying in my backyard. Now I hear her in my closet. Have you ever played "The Flashlight Game"? I finally know why my patient wears a tinfoil hat. DONโ€™T SCREAM 2 brings you 30 more terrifying tales for your darkest nights. A sequel to a #1 bestselling horror anthology Don't Scream, featuring hideous doppelgangers, terrifying apps, lurking monsters, and more. Read... if you dare.
Pages of Dust: Volume 4

Pages of Dust: Volume 4

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 1, 2019
Book Description:
In the dusty corners of reality, where the darkness refuses to be banished, nightmares lurk. They wait for the curious and unfortunate to stumble out of the well-lit paths of life. Beware, for in opening this book, you part the veil and slip into the realm of the dead. An anthology of ghost stories by James Colton, plus one by his wife Shannen L. Colton.

Skip to content