๐Ÿ“– The Library – Recommended Reading

Crisp Flash Fiction

Crisp Flash Fiction

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
December 21, 2020
Book Description:
Flash Fiction at its freshest. Crisp Flash Fiction is the fiction work of the internationally published author, Dan A. Cardoza. Feel free to Google Danโ€™s full name, and check out many of his published poems, flash fiction, and long-form short stories. Challenge yourself, take your time, Danโ€™s solid literary storytelling has a lot to offer a wide audience. Dan is currently working on a full-length novel.
The Harrowick Chronicles: Volume I

The Harrowick Chronicles: Volume I

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 29, 2020
Book Description:
Indie horror author The Vesperโ€™s Bell proudly presents a macabre, novel-length compilation of twenty-four original short works of the bizarre and the unbelievable, beginning with the seminal, seven-part serial, Hallowed Ground! โ€œA young womanโ€™s attempt to find some peace and quiet in an abandoned cemetery goes horribly awry come All Hallowsโ€™ Eve, when apparitions from the depths of the Underworld rise up and claim the soul of her friend. But our heroine isnโ€™t one to let dead things lie, and soon sets out on a quest to master all things occult, a journey that inevitably leads her to challenge the Queen of the Dead herself!โ€ The story doesnโ€™t stop there, though. The Harrowick Chronicles brings you another seventeen ghastly tales to recount more paranormal and petrifying adventures from the borders of Harrowick County and beyond. From serial killer siblings, to cerebrospinal psychopaths, to unseen specters spun from the Primeval Darkness itself, and much, much more! The Harrowick Chronicles features stories that have been showcased on the Chilling Tales for Dark Nights horror podcast, as well as prominent creepypasta YouTube channels such as ClancyPasta and Natureโ€™s Temper. It also includes multiple exclusive, never-before-seen tales, not available anywhere else! So prepare yourself, reader, to enter the surreal and sinister otherworld that is The Harrowick Chronicles!
Knifepoint Horror: The Transcripts, Volume 5

Knifepoint Horror: The Transcripts, Volume 5

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
September 30, 2020
Book Description:
This book collects 15 stories of suspense and the supernatural by Soren Narnia as heard on the Knifepoint Horror podcast.
Boy in the Box

Boy in the Box

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 23, 2020
Book Description:
โ€œThis is a harrowing and intense psychological horror novel for fans of Peter Straub, Jac Jemc, and Ania Ahlborn." โ€•ย Booklist โ€•ย Ten years ago a mysterious and tragic hunting accident deep in the Adirondack Mountains left a boy buried in a storied piece of land known as Coombsโ€™ Gulch and four friends with a terrible secret. Now, Jonathan Hollis and brothers Michael and Conner Braddick must return to the place that changed their lives forever in order to keep their secret buried. What they donโ€™t realize is that they are walking into a trap โ€• one set decades earlier by a supernatural being who is not confined by time or place: a demon that demands a sacrifice. FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launched in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.
Tenement: A Short Horror Story

Tenement: A Short Horror Story

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Short Story
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 17, 2020
Book Description:
Moving away from home can be a little scary, especially when your new place is a crumbling apartment building in a less than affluent neighborhood. Creaky floorboards in the darkness and shadows moving outside your door are bound to make anyone a little jumpy, but at least the landlady seems sweet enough.
Too Spooky Tales: Book Three: Echos Of The Passed

Too Spooky Tales: Book Three: Echos Of The Passed

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 17, 2020
Book Description:
From Christopher Howard Wolf, also known as Slimebeast, come 6 original scary stories that probe the border between life and death. From a visceral experience with a hospital ghost, to a quest for the perfect meal, "Too Spooky Tales" brings unexpected horrors from dark places.
Helltown Experiments: Book 1

Helltown Experiments: Book 1

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 14, 2020
Book Description:
In 1974 the government took over 32,861 acres of land and made it the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. It forced the many residents off their property, and rumors of strange experiments that took place in an underground government facility became the thing of legend. Helltown, where multiple lives intersect, and only those with the will to survive in a place named after Hell itself survive, but at what cost? This is their story.
Don't Scream 3: 30 More Tales to Terrify

Don’t Scream 3: 30 More Tales to Terrify

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
March 27, 2020
Book Description:
I hear a train outside my window. Every night, it gets closer. I got called to landscape a strange garden--that blooms in the middle of December. I visited the Titanic shipwreck. There's something down there no one should see... DONโ€™T SCREAM 3 brings you 30 more terrifying tales for your darkest nights. A successor to the #1 bestselling horror anthology Don't Scream, featuring hideous doppelgangers, terrifying apps, lurking monsters, and more. Read... if you dare.
Simeon

Simeon

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
February 1, 2020
Book Description:
When Diana - aย defector to the Soviet Union - blows up her own American platoon in an act of terroristic defiance, she finds herself shuttled to a secret military laboratory deep in the Siberian tundra. There she melds with its community of workers and finds herself at the mercy of shady Director Ivanov's bizarre and restrictive policies. Their experiment is a hybridย of man and ape, reared to be the ultimate soldier. But as a mysterious delusion passes among the workforce, and as friends and enemies succumb to the madness, Diana uncovers an existential corruption; not just in what she believes, but in the human condition itself.
The Art of Fear: How to Write Scary Ghost Stories that Terrify Your Readers

The Art of Fear: How to Write Scary Ghost Stories that Terrify Your Readers

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Reference Guide
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 13, 2020
Book Description:
Do you want to give your readers goosebumps? Do you want to inspire nightmares? Author James Colton shares everything heโ€™s learned from a decade of writing ghost stories, including:

The Principles of Terror:

  • Discover the basic qualities that make something scary
  • Learn how to apply the unknown, uncanniness, subtlety, and more to your writing

The Ghost Story Process:

  • Crack the secrets of idea generation to craft a story that is both original and terrifying
  • Understand the structure of a ghost story for maximum fright impact

Creepy Case Studies:

  • Study examples from novels, short stories, and films
  • Dive deep into one of my own ghost stories to see how it all works in practice

Practical Exercises:

  • Stretch your creativity and train your spooky skills with specially crafted writing assignments
  • Put together everything youโ€™ve learned to write your own scary ghost story
Too Spooky Tales: Book Two: Lying in Plain Sight

Too Spooky Tales: Book Two: Lying in Plain Sight

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 1, 2020
Book Description:
From Christopher Howard Wolf, also known as Slimebeast, come 6 original scary stories with a demented sense of humor. From the confessions of a TSA agent to the troubles of a man with an unfortunate name, "Too Spooky Tales" Book 2 brings unexpected horrors from dark places.
Midnight Men: The Supernatural Adventures of Earl and Dale

Midnight Men: The Supernatural Adventures of Earl and Dale

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 16, 2019
Book Description:
Midnight. The Witching Hour. But the creatures of darkness are not confined to the shadows of the night. Lonely stretches of highwaysโ€ฆ Bustling college campusesโ€ฆ Quiet suburban neighborhoodsโ€ฆ Pricey, upscale day spas... They're everywhere. Earl and Dale, a pair of burly truckers, seem to be drawn to those that dwell in the darkness. Monster hunters by default, they confront the evil fearlesslyโ€”and with just a bit of humor. Vampires, werewolves, half-human spider demons, and those that prey on the innocentโ€ฆ All will realize they've met their match when they go head to head withโ€ฆ

Skip to content