๐Ÿ“– The Library – Recommended Reading

Boy in the Box

Boy in the Box

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 23, 2020
Book Description:
โ€œThis is a harrowing and intense psychological horror novel for fans of Peter Straub, Jac Jemc, and Ania Ahlborn." โ€•ย Booklist โ€•ย Ten years ago a mysterious and tragic hunting accident deep in the Adirondack Mountains left a boy buried in a storied piece of land known as Coombsโ€™ Gulch and four friends with a terrible secret. Now, Jonathan Hollis and brothers Michael and Conner Braddick must return to the place that changed their lives forever in order to keep their secret buried. What they donโ€™t realize is that they are walking into a trap โ€• one set decades earlier by a supernatural being who is not confined by time or place: a demon that demands a sacrifice. FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launched in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.
Tenement: A Short Horror Story

Tenement: A Short Horror Story

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Short Story
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 17, 2020
Book Description:
Moving away from home can be a little scary, especially when your new place is a crumbling apartment building in a less than affluent neighborhood. Creaky floorboards in the darkness and shadows moving outside your door are bound to make anyone a little jumpy, but at least the landlady seems sweet enough.
Too Spooky Tales: Book Three: Echos Of The Passed

Too Spooky Tales: Book Three: Echos Of The Passed

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
April 17, 2020
Book Description:
From Christopher Howard Wolf, also known as Slimebeast, come 6 original scary stories that probe the border between life and death. From a visceral experience with a hospital ghost, to a quest for the perfect meal, "Too Spooky Tales" brings unexpected horrors from dark places.
Don't Scream 3: 30 More Tales to Terrify

Don’t Scream 3: 30 More Tales to Terrify

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
March 27, 2020
Book Description:
I hear a train outside my window. Every night, it gets closer. I got called to landscape a strange garden--that blooms in the middle of December. I visited the Titanic shipwreck. There's something down there no one should see... DONโ€™T SCREAM 3 brings you 30 more terrifying tales for your darkest nights. A successor to the #1 bestselling horror anthology Don't Scream, featuring hideous doppelgangers, terrifying apps, lurking monsters, and more. Read... if you dare.
The Art of Fear: How to Write Scary Ghost Stories that Terrify Your Readers

The Art of Fear: How to Write Scary Ghost Stories that Terrify Your Readers

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Reference Guide
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 13, 2020
Book Description:
Do you want to give your readers goosebumps? Do you want to inspire nightmares? Author James Colton shares everything heโ€™s learned from a decade of writing ghost stories, including:

The Principles of Terror:

  • Discover the basic qualities that make something scary
  • Learn how to apply the unknown, uncanniness, subtlety, and more to your writing

The Ghost Story Process:

  • Crack the secrets of idea generation to craft a story that is both original and terrifying
  • Understand the structure of a ghost story for maximum fright impact

Creepy Case Studies:

  • Study examples from novels, short stories, and films
  • Dive deep into one of my own ghost stories to see how it all works in practice

Practical Exercises:

  • Stretch your creativity and train your spooky skills with specially crafted writing assignments
  • Put together everything youโ€™ve learned to write your own scary ghost story
Too Spooky Tales: Book Two: Lying in Plain Sight

Too Spooky Tales: Book Two: Lying in Plain Sight

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
January 1, 2020
Book Description:
From Christopher Howard Wolf, also known as Slimebeast, come 6 original scary stories with a demented sense of humor. From the confessions of a TSA agent to the troubles of a man with an unfortunate name, "Too Spooky Tales" Book 2 brings unexpected horrors from dark places.
Midnight Men: The Supernatural Adventures of Earl and Dale

Midnight Men: The Supernatural Adventures of Earl and Dale

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 16, 2019
Book Description:
Midnight. The Witching Hour. But the creatures of darkness are not confined to the shadows of the night. Lonely stretches of highwaysโ€ฆ Bustling college campusesโ€ฆ Quiet suburban neighborhoodsโ€ฆ Pricey, upscale day spas... They're everywhere. Earl and Dale, a pair of burly truckers, seem to be drawn to those that dwell in the darkness. Monster hunters by default, they confront the evil fearlesslyโ€”and with just a bit of humor. Vampires, werewolves, half-human spider demons, and those that prey on the innocentโ€ฆ All will realize they've met their match when they go head to head withโ€ฆ
The Elevator

The Elevator

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novella
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 14, 2019
Book Description:
Thomas Birkoff is the youngest CEO in Manhattan Dynamics' long history. After entering the elevator to leave work late one night, Thomas gets a ride a little further down then he wanted. Forced to face some of the terrible things he has done in his life, Thomas is placed in a life or death situation for not only himself but his son.
Don't Scream 2: 30 More Tales to Terrify

Don’t Scream 2: 30 More Tales to Terrify

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 4, 2019
Book Description:
Every night, I hear a woman crying in my backyard. Now I hear her in my closet. Have you ever played "The Flashlight Game"? I finally know why my patient wears a tinfoil hat. DONโ€™T SCREAM 2 brings you 30 more terrifying tales for your darkest nights. A sequel to a #1 bestselling horror anthology Don't Scream, featuring hideous doppelgangers, terrifying apps, lurking monsters, and more. Read... if you dare.
Pages of Dust: Volume 4

Pages of Dust: Volume 4

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
October 1, 2019
Book Description:
In the dusty corners of reality, where the darkness refuses to be banished, nightmares lurk. They wait for the curious and unfortunate to stumble out of the well-lit paths of life. Beware, for in opening this book, you part the veil and slip into the realm of the dead. An anthology of ghost stories by James Colton, plus one by his wife Shannen L. Colton.
City of Demons: The Unseen - Book Two

City of Demons: The Unseen – Book Two

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Novel, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
September 14, 2019
Book Description:
New town. Old demons. Running her small dojo in the corrupt city of Santa Fausta,ย Karen Kimuraย has spent her life in the shadows, guarding the secret of her Unseen heritage- but no secret stays hidden forever. When a young girl with her own dark past comes seeking help, Karen decides to step out into the light. It's a decision that doesn't sit well with the girl's step-father, a corrupt businessman who runs Santa Fausta. With his own plans for the darkness living inside the young girl, he takes the fight to Karen's doorstep, plunging her back into a world she ran from years ago. He's about to discover he messed with the wrong woman. Because Karen Kimura is part ninja, part spider, and all kinds of pissed off. The Unseenย is a bold new take on familiar myths, from doppelgangers to vampires, demons, monsters and more. This is a series that can't be missed. But be careful- once seen, this world can't be unseen...
Don't Scream: 60 Tales to Terrify

Don’t Scream: 60 Tales to Terrify

๐Ÿ”– Format:
Single-author Collection, Series
๐Ÿ“ Author(s):
๐Ÿ“… Release Date:
June 17, 2019
Book Description:
I picked up a hitchhiker. Now Iโ€™m not sure Iโ€™ll get home alive. I finally bought my own Airpods. I hear something terrifying when I wear them. Today, I looked in the mirror... for the first time in 10 years. Do NOT read a book called โ€œGoodnight, Preciousโ€ to your children. DONโ€™T SCREAM brings you 60 terrifying tales for your darkest nights. This bestselling collection hasย every flavor of horror, from heinous murders to secret rooms, from sinister virtual realities to unexplained mysteries. Read... if you dare.

Skip to content